What are the two categories of control devices(Motor starters -Control Circuitry MCC)?

Two categories of control devices are IEC control devices and NEMA.

IEC control device -

IEC - The acronym stands for international Electrotechnical Commission

IEC types motor starters and components are less expensive .These type of control devices are smaller in size and are tailored for specific motor performance requirements.

IEC rated motor controllers are widely used in europe and asia.

NEMA control device-

NEMA - national electrical manufactures association

NEMA devices are larger than IEC and typically heavy duty.

Starters can be maintained and repaired.