Question, wiring of RS485 and use of virtual serial ports/USB

Hi All, Hopefully somebody can help, I am new to coms.

If I am testing a RS485 device ( say battery flowmeter, 2 wire ) and am trying check that I am receiving packets, what are the best tools to do this. I have a RS485 to USB connector with a virtual port driver however I have heard that some devices don’t like this and require a laptop with dedicated serial port. Also connecting the RS485 wires, one end has the standard RXD+ and RXD- however the device contains UpA,DownA, UpB and Down B.

Any helpful links or answers would be appreciated.

ROb

Getting any serial interface to run is a project. It is NEVER plug and play, unless a common vendor supplies both ends, which is rarely the case. Be prepared for lots of experimentation. (it’s why I like Ethernet protocols, as opposed to protocols using the 232/485 transport layer.)

UpA, DownA, UpG and DownB (characteristic of 4 wire RS-485) is new terminolgoy to me. I wonder is this is the vendor’s first effort at communications?

4 wire RS-485 is for full duplex operation, but 99% of applications do not have the software application level to support full duplex (two devices can talk and listen simultaneously). If one device is half duplex (2 wire RS-485), then you need to jumper the 4-wire end to make it 2-wire.

Most of the time, (+) is jumpered to (+) and (-) jumpered to (-) to create half duplex (only device talks at a time, all others listen).

I would try

• UpA jumpered to UpB and
  • DownA jumpered to DownB

Although labels like A and B have (+) and (-) polarities, labeling varies from vendor to vendor, there is no “standard”.